Valentine Cookies

Standard

So, we don’t really celebrate Valentine’s Day, but this year, I made some sugar cookie hearts just for fun. I had a GREAT time making the cookies, decorating them, and giving them away. I used Bret’s Granny’s wonderful sugar cookie recipe. She makes these for every holiday.

1 c. sugar
1 c. soft butter
3 TBS milk
1 egg
1 tsp. vanilla
3 c. flour
1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt

(Her directions are kind of vague, but here is what I did). Cream together butter and sugar; beat in milk, egg vanilla. Add flour, baking powder, and salt; mix well. Refrigerate for a while, the dough will get harder and easier to work with. Divide into portions that you can roll out and fit on a cookie sheet. (My oven is really small, so I had to use small amounts at a time). Roll out on a lightly floured surface, about 1/8 inch thick; if you roll it thinner, its pretty hard to get it up and onto the cookie sheet with out bending the cookie out of shape. Place cookies on an ungreased cookie sheet and bake at 400 degrees until lightly browned on the edges. This was about 9 minutes for my larger cookies.

The looked like this when I was finished cooking them: (Those are my favorite bowls in the background, one of our friends made them for our wedding gift.)

I let them cool overnight, and then iced them.

I used this icing recipe off of recipezaar.com:

1 c. powdered sugar
2 tsp. milk
2 tsp. light corn syrup
1/4 tsp. vanilla

I just mixed all the ingredients together. I ended up adding more milk for the base coat of icing. The corn syrup makes your icing nice and shiney, almost like royal icing, but without the possibility of salmonella. 🙂 I painted the base coat onto my cookies, using a basting brush. It worked surprisingly well; I’m more adept with a paintbrush than with a knife or something like that. The cookies looked like this after the base coat of icing:

I let these dry for several hours, while I was at work, then I got to decorate them! This was my favorite part. I used the same icing recipe, but added some more powdered sugar, so I could pipe some designs onto the cooking with a pastry decorator’s bag. This is me, excited to start decorating my cookies:

After everything was all dry, I bagged up the cookies and tied them with pink ribbon. So cute! Here’s the final result:

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

3 responses »

  1. …and they tasted really good, too! Thanks for posting the recipe. We make a lot of cookies around here, but not the kind to decorate. I would like to do more of that with the girls.
    -Kimberly

  2. Pingback: Hearts « Willing Hands

Leave a Reply

