Recipe of the Week – Zupa Toscana

Standard

After feeling a bit under the weather yesterday morning, I made this tasty soup for dinner. The recipe was originally from a restaurant knock-off cookbook, but I’ve changed it quite a bit. This is my husband’s favorite soup. I find that one of the best ways to love and serve him is to cook the things that he likes. Its one of the ways that I enjoy honoring and respecting him.

Zupa Toscana

2 3/4 c. chicken broth
1/4 c. heavy cream
1 medium russet potato
2 cups chopped kale
1/2 lb. Italian sausage
1/4 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes

1) Combine chicken broth and cream in saucepan over medium heat.
2) Slice potato into 1/4 in slices, quarter them, and add to soup.
3) Cut sausage into 1/2 in thick slices and saute until done in skillet; add to soup.
4) Boil chopped kale in enough water to cover it IN A SEPARATE POT. The original recipe says to add the kale directly to the soup, but I’ve found that it makes your soup taste way too “green.”
5) Add seasonings and let simmer for 2 hours, stirring occasionally. 
6) Drain the kale and stir into the soup just before serving.
(I don’t always let it cook for 2 hours, and it still tastes good)

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

5 responses »

  1. Wow! The pic looks like it could have been on the cover of the “restaurant knock-off cookbook.” Are there any leftovers? It’s only about a 6 hour drive. If I leave now, I can be there before midnight.

  2. Thanks! 🙂 There are leftovers, and you’re welcome to them if you can get past Bret. 🙂

  3. Hey Rachel, I’m making this for dinner tonight. Yum!! I had a little trouble finding kale, but it’s my own fault because I shop on Saturday (the stores re-fill on Sunday). But I found some and am looking forward to this! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

  4. Yeah, Sarah, when I got the recipe, I was sure you had to go to Central Market or something to get kale, but I’ve been able to get it at Walmart. Who knew? Let me know how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

