Prayer and Fasting for the Persecuted Church

Standard

 One of my favorite things about our church is that once a month, the day we celebrate the Lord’s Supper, we also have a day of fasting and prayer for our persecuted brothers and sisters. Obviously, being 21 weeks prego, I can’t participate in the fasting, but I still find it very profitable for my prayers to be reminded often of Christians around the world that are suffering for Jesus’ sake.

Paul commands the Colossians to “Continue steadfastly in prayer, being watchful in it with thanksgiving. At the same time, pray also for us, that God may open to us a door for the word, to declare the mystery of Christ, on account of which I am in prison – that I may make it clear, which is how I ought to speak” (Col 4:2-4). I think these verses still apply to Christians today. We are to bear the burdens of the body of Christ, ALL of the body, even those that we have never seen, and probably never will. We are to be steadfast in prayer for them, and ask the Lord to provide ways for them to declare His Word clearly, even in pain and suffering. Voice of the Martyrs provides alot of helpful information that aids me in making my prayers more personal, as well as better informed.

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

Leave a Reply

