Respite

Standard

I must apologize for the extremely LONG delay on any new posts! My thoughts have been occupied in other areas besides crafting and baking because….

I’M PREGNANT!

Yeah! Bret and I are both excited, but a little wary, because of past experiences. And I was put on bedrest on Wednesday. Tomorrow we go to have a sonogram, and we are hopeful that the doctor will have a better understanding of what’s going on then. We have been strengthened and sustained by the Prince of Peace. I have actually not minded this time; my husband has taken great care of me, and my sister came to entertain me this weekend.

You’d think I would have done a lot of crafting while lying here, but I really have not wanted to! I don’t know why at all, in fact, I’m a little surprised at it myself. Baking has been pretty much out of the question, since its a feat of terrific self-control to even get dinner ready without wanting to throw up. My poor plants are probably whithered away from neglect. So, the things that I mostly write about here, have not been taking up very much of my life lately.

I have, in the past 6 days, read FIVE books! Yep! And I really only started reading on Thursday. I reread “The Pilgrim’s Regress” by C.S. Lewis. Its somewhat his own spiritual biography, in an allegorical form, modeled loosely after Pilgrim’s Progress. Then I read 3 books that were loaned to me by a friend: “The Shepherd of the Hills” about love and goodness in the backwoods Ozarks, “Heidi” the tale of a little girl from the Alps, and “Miracle of Miracles” which is a true story of salvation out of Islam in Iran. The last book was “David Copperfield” by Charles Dickens. I enjoyed the book, but not as much as “The Pickwick Papers”, which I read earlier this semester. I think “The Pickwick Papers” was written earlier in Dickens’ career, and it is funnier and lighter than “David Copperfield”. But I liked them both, which is a change for me, because I used to not like Dickens that much.

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

4 responses »

  1. Oh Rach, congrats! I am glad to hear you are pregnant, but not glad to hear you are sick..I pray that God would give you strength and ability to endure your household duties during this time! Will and I are going to be in Dallas in January if you and Bret are interested in visiting. Maybe your bump will be noticeable by then?

  2. This is my first comment, but I wanted you to know how much I’ve enjoyed reading your blog lately, Rachel. I am praying for you and the life the Lord has created in you. Praying you get some answers tomorrow at your ultrasound and are continually upheld by the Creator of Life.

Leave a Reply

