Winter Sickness

Standard

I get some sort of cold/sinus grossness every time it gets cold. I call this winter sickness, and my (very scientific) theory is that my body, from growing up in very tropical West Africa, does not know how to deal with cold air. So, consequently, I get sick. That, or I just don’t have any immunity to all these cold weather bugs. I’ve been under my first bout of the season this week. Its been one of the more terrible ones. But I thought I’d share some of the things I do to make myself feel better, and get well more quickly. I am by no means an expert or a medical professional, but these are the things that I find helpful. Most of these are pretty obvious.

REST!I know this is really obvious, but I, and I think, most people, have a tendency to push myself to go on if I can do anything at all. I’ve learned that this is NOT the best way. Its WAY better for me to take some time when I start feeling bad, chill out, sleep, and let my body work on making me better.

Drink lots of water! I mean guzzle it! Even if I’m not particularly thirsty, I make myself drink often, because this also seems to help keep me from getting any worse. Also, this means not drinking much of other things, except maybe if you like herbal teas (I don’t, which makes me kind of sad).

Take extra vitamin C.Vitamin C is supposed to help your immune system fight infections better. I wasn’t to keen on this until my doctor told me to do it. You can have up to 1000 mgs a day.

Use saline nasal spray. I have never actually bought saline nasal spray, I just make my own salt water concoction. It sometimes hurts like the blazes, but it really helps clean out my nose and sinuses, and seems to fight the bacteria, etc. that may be in my head.

Take some kind of cold medicine.I can only take this at night, because if I take the daytime pills, they make me kind of loopy. I normally take Sudafed Cold & Sinus, Nighttime. It just helps me to sleep better, and get the rest I need.

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

One response »

Leave a Reply

