Fally Fall Pumpkin Loaf

Standard

Today was our first day that actually felt like fall, can you tell I’m excited about that. This morning was deliciously foggy and the day was windy and cool. So much so that I was glad to come home and get cozy in a sweatshirt, fleece pants, and the beloved fuzzy slippers. Tonight I decided to make pumpkin bread for Care Group tomorrow night; the smells of pumpkin loaf baking are so autumn-ey to me. And there’s something really relaxing to me about baking bread. I love getting to serve my husband and my church by cooking for them. Its a great way for me to use the hands and skills that the Lord has given me for His glory and to encourage and strengthen His people.

When I was a little girl, my mom would make loaves and loaves of pumpkin and banana bread and give them away to the people we worked with (during the “fall” time of year, except where I grew up there was no fall, just more hot). But she did it the hard and labor-intensive way, starting with one whole pumpkin. I did not do that! I started with a can of Libbey’s, already-pureed, pumpkin.

Pumpkin Loaf

Pumpkin Loaf 
This recipe is from my Betty Crocker cookbook.

1 15-0z can pumpkin
1 2/3 cups sugar
2/3 cup vegetable oil
2 teaspoons vanilla
4 eggs
3 cups flour (I use 1 cup whole wheat, and 2 cups regular)
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 cup coarsely chopped nuts (I omit)
1/2 cup raisins (I omit)

1) Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Grease the bottom only of two 8×4-inch pans or one 9×5-inch pan.

2) In a large bowl, mix first 5 ingredients until well combined; add remaining ingredients. Mix well.

3) Bake 8-inch loaves 50-60 minutes; bake 9-inch loaves 1 hour to 1:20. Cool 10 minutes in pans on wire rack; turn out onto wire rack and let cool completely, about 2 hours. 

By the way, I highly recommend the Betty Crocker cookbook, it has all you need to know to cook well, and fun pictures. My husband gave mine to me as a gift when we were engaged, and it still ranks high on my list of favorite gifts.

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Fall Yummyness! « Willing Hands

Leave a Reply

