Citizenship

Standard

I know, 2 posts in one day after several days of absence is a little much, but I wanted to write about two very different topics, so hence the 2 posts.

One of the reasons that today was so busy is that one of the sweet ladies that I work with, M, became an American citizen today. I got to go to her swearing in ceremony with some other girls from work. I enjoyed it, and it was really wonderful to see M so excited and proud of finally completely the process and becoming an American. M has been in the States for a little over 5 years, and she, with her 2 children, came  from a very difficult and dangerous country as a refugee. It was very exciting to think that she will never be sent back there, and now enjoys all the rights and privileges of an American.

However, as I was thinking about all this, I was reminded that M is not a believer and she is not a citizen of Heaven. How I would love to celebrate that change of allegiance, from worshipping a false god to worshipping the One True God and Jesus Christ His Son and being forever able to enjoy the privileges of God’s country. No matter how great a country like America is (as M was told many times today), it is transient. It will pass or we will die. But eternal citizenship never passes, and its citizens never die, but live forever in the kingdom of their God.

I was also reminded where my citizenship is. As much as I am thankful to be an American, I am infinitely more thankful and amazed that my Lord has chosen me to be a citizen of heaven.
But our citizenship is in heaven, and from it we await a Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ, who will transform our lowly body to be like his glorious body, by the power that enables him even to subject all things to himself.            ~Philippians 3:20-21
And that means that my life must be lived out as a citizen of heaven; I must be and do what a saint is and does.

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

Leave a Reply

