Green Dinner

Standard

I made two new recipes for dinner tonight. Now, that may sound very creative and adventurous, but the real truth is that I haven’t been to the grocery store in a good long time, and am trying to put that off until Monday. So dinner tonight was one of those make-what-you-can from-what-you-find in-the-pantry meals.

I made grilled chicken marinated in this concoction:

1/2 cup olive oil
1/4 cup chives
1/4 cup parsley
1/4 cup cilantro (are you seeing why it was green?)
1 tablespoon garlic powder
2 teaspoons paprika
2 teaspoons cumin
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon turmeric
1/4 teaspoon cayenne

Mix all this in the blender, pour over chicken breasts. Let marinate as long as you want. Grill each breast for 8 minutes on each side. Baste when you flip them over.

On the side we had Spinach and Onion Couscous.

1 medium onion, finely chopped
2 garlic cloves, minced
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 (14.5 ounce) can chicken broth (I used water and bouillon cubes)
1 (10 ounce) bag frozen chopped spinach
1 (10 ounce) package couscous
3/4 cup Parmesan cheese (for lack of anything better, I used the powdered kind that you put on spaghetti)
2 tablespoons lemon juice (I used lime)
salt to taste
pepper to taste
1/2 cup chopped pecans, toasted (I left this out, because I didn’t have any pecans.)

In a saucepan, cook and stir onion and garlic in hot oil until tender (onion will be translucent). Add the broth and spinach, bring to a boil, stirring frequently.

Once the mixture is boiling, stir in the couscous. Cover the pot, remove from heat, and let stand 5 minutes or until liquid is absorbed.

Stir in remaining ingredients. Serve immediately.

Amazingly, these two dishes went really well together! My husband gave them a 9.5 out of 10, which, I think, is a first for me. Yeah! 🙂 I love making things that he likes. And I was really excited because I didn’t have to buy anything extra, but just used what was in our pantry. I normally plan out meals, but this week is an extension on the planned menu, so everything is running a little short. Both of the recipes are off of recipezaar.com, which is definitely my friend after helping me produce this meal. These 2 recipes also work well in the preparation aspect of things. Start cooking the onions and garlic for the couscous when you put the chicken on the grill – both dishes will be ready right around the same time.

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

Leave a Reply

