Eating for the Glory of God?

Standard

food-2.jpg

The wonderful ladies over at the girltalk blog are doing a series on eating and being healthy (check it out here) for the purpose of bringing honor to God. They are starting with an interview of two people that have studied and taught on what it looks like for the people of God to worship the Lord through what we eat and drink. I am really excited to learn from them, especialy because I’ve found it hard to discover God’s perspective on eating, much less maintain that perspective in my own life. I see believers who overeat, who have eating disorders, who make “healthy eating” an obsession and an idol, who eat to appease emotions… but I haven’t found many Christians who approach eating and food as a means to bring honor and glory to our God, the one who made our bodies, and food for them. I want to learn how to do this, how to be healthy for the sake of bringing glory to my Lord, how to enjoy food as His good gift to me, how to use it for the purpose for which it was intended, and no other. There are so many ways to be disobediant in this area, and so much deep rooted sin and selfishness in my heart, that it is a struggle for me to approach this in a God-centered, Jesus-exalting way. I am hopeful that the truths presented in this series will help teach me how to pursue godliness in what I eat.

“So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.”
1 Corinthians 10:31

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

2 responses »

  1. Great blog. I am with you. I know for some I could lose weight for others I am just right. All I know is that everytime I focus on my weight it becomes an obsession and I end up right back where I started. I try to keep a balance and keep lots of fruits and veggies on hand as I do like them. Blessings.

    http://realworldmartha.wordpress.com

  2. I wanted to tell you that your post inspired me so I put a post together on my thoughts on child obesity in the church. If you haven’t seen it, I hope you will check it out and let me know your thoughts.
    Debbie

Leave a Reply

