Recipe of the Week – Kung Pao Chicken

Standard

Tonight, Bret and I enjoyed eating dinner with these sweet friends. This is the recipe we served. Bret loves it, and gives it a 9 on the husband scale. I got it off of recipezaar.com By the way, that’s my favorite recipe website; it has lots of international foods, but also recipes that are more practical and cooked by real people with real ingredients and real time limitations.

Kung Pao Chicken

1 lb boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into 1 inch pieces
1 tablespoon cornstarch
2 teaspoons vegetable oil
3 tablespoons green onions, chopped
2 garlic cloves, minced
1/4 to 1 1/2 teaspoons crushed red pepper flakes (I use 1/2 tsp)
1/2 teaspoon powdered ginger
2 tablespoons rice wine vinegar
2 tablespoons soy sauce
2 teaspoons sugar
1/3 cup dry roasted peanuts
4 cups hot cooked rice

Toss chicken in cornstarch to coat. Heat oil in large nonstick skillet or wok on medium heat. Add chicken. Stir-fry 5-7 minutes, or until no longer pink in center (I stir-fry the chicken longer, because I am paranoid about undercooked chicken). Remove from heat.

Add green onions, garlic, red pepper, and ginger to skillet. Stir-fry 15 seconds; remove from heat.

Combine vinegar, soy sauce, and sugar in a small bowl; mix well. Add to skillet.

Return chicken to skillet; add nuts. Heat thoroughly and stir until chicken and nuts are well-coated.

Serve over hot rice.

The recipe says 3-4 servings, but in reality, we get 2-3. I doubled it tonight for the four of us, and there’s not any left. This meal will be ready with about 20 minutes of prep time.

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

Leave a Reply

