Recipe of the Week – Spaghetti Sauce

Standard

Each week, I’m going to post a recipe that I made that week, and that I particularly like. Hopefully, this will help me to try new recipes and evaluate them better. This the spaghetti sauce that my mom, a wonderful cook, has made my whole life. I really like it; its the sauce that I compare all other spaghettis to. Try it, and you’ll see what I mean! 

Mom’s Spaghetti Sauce

1 cup chopped onion
1 pound ground beef
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 1-pound 14-ounce can diced tomatoes
1 1-pound can diced tomatoes
1 6-ounce can tomato paste
1/2 cup snipped parsley
2 Tablespoons brown sugar
2 teaspoons salt
3 teaspoons dried oregano, crushed
1/2 teaspoon dried thyme, crushed
1 Tablespoon basil

In a large dutch oven, combine onion, meat, and garlic, cook until meat is browned and onion is tender. Drain off fat; add next 9 ingredients and 2 cups water. Simmer, uncovered, for 3 hours, or until sauce is think; stir occasionally. Serve over hot spaghettie noodles.

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

Leave a Reply

