A Morning of Baking

Standard

My sweet husband volunteered me to make cookies for a get-together tonight, so I got to enjoy baking this morning. Baking is really relaxing for me, and I love getting to eat the finished product. I thought I’d share the recipes.

Apple & Cheese Pleaser

Portable Apple & Cheese Pleasers
The first recipe sounds kind of strange, but Bret loves it and it is relatively healthy. I got it off of recipezaar.com.

3/4 cup flour
2/3 cup butter, softened
1/3 cup firmly packed brown sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 cups oatmeal, uncooked
1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
3/4 cup raisins (I omit)
1 cup chopped apples

1) Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
2) Combine flour, butter, sugar, egg, vanilla, cinnamon, baking powder, and salt in a medium bowl; mix well.
3) Add oatmeal, cheese, and raisins; mix.
4) Stir in chopped apple.
5) Drop by heaping spoonfuls onto an ungreased cookie sheet.
6) Bake 15 minutes or until golden brown.
Store in a tightly covered container in the refrigerator or in a loosely covered container at room temperature. Makes about 2 dozen cookies.

Choc-oat-chip cookie

Choc-oat-chip Cookies
The second recipe is my favorite cookie, and today’s batch is the best I’ve ever made. Yeah! 🙂 Its off the back of the Nestle chocolate chip wrapper.

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp. baking soda (I switched this for about 2 teaspoons baking powder because I don’t like flat cookies.)
1/2 tsp. salt (optional, I include)
1 1/4 cups packed brown sugar
1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 large eggs
2 Tbsp. milk
2 tsp. vanilla extract
2 1/2 cup oatmeal, uncooked
2 cups chocolate chips
1 cup chopped nuts (optional, I omit)

1) Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.
2) Combine flour, baking soda (or baking powder), and salt in small bowl. Beat brown sugar, butter, and granulated sugar in large mixer bowl until creamy. Beat in eggs, milk, and vanilla. Gradually beat in flour mixture. Stir in oats, chocolate chips, and nuts; mix well. Drop by rounded tablespoons onto ungreased cookie sheets.
3) Bake for 9-10 minutes for chewy cookies or 12-13 minutes for cripsy cookies. Cool on baking sheet for 1 minute; remove to wire racks to cool completely.
Makes about 4 dozen cookies.

And the end result: 6 dozen yummy cookies and a satisfied cook.

All the cookies

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

3 responses »

  1. Hello sweet friend. I’m just perusing. I think I will try your cookie recipes someday when I am just hungry enough for cookies to want to make them and not too hungry to take the time. 🙂 I love you.

  2. 1. I am so THRILLED to see your blog!! I love it!!
    2. Is that FABRIC at the top?! I love it! 🙂
    3. I love Rachel.

    This comment is filled with love and excitedness.

Leave a Reply

