Standard

“Sweet Forgiveness, my Redemption
You’re a Savior once for all and today.
O the mercy comes to flood me.
Jesus on the cross, He took my place.
Now I’m chasing after You,
‘Cause You first chased after me,
And You purchased me with blood,
I am free, I am complete!
I’m a child of my King.
Leaving old, I am made new.
Cause you first chased after me,
I am chasing after You.
I have found my love
I have found my love
And my heart is dancing.”
~Charlie Hall

This afternoon, I was ironing (my least favorite household duty), and somewhat discouraged. I was pondering my sin and weakness and generally indulging in a pity party. The Lord used the lyrics to penetrate my heavy heart and remind me that His purpose for me here is not satisfaction with the world or a life that fits my criteria, but pursuit of Him and joy in the One who upholds the world by the word of His power. If I really believe these words that I have sung many times, I would iron with gladness in my heart over the Lord in whose presence is fullness of joy. In His right hand are pleasures forevermore! May my heart learn to rejoice in the great truth that my Father is the source of joy and satisfaction, that He has drawn me to Himself, and that He will NEVER leave me or forsake me!

Preserve me, O God, for in you I take refuge.
I say to the LORD, “You are my Lord;
I have no good apart from you.”…
The LORD is my chosen portion and my cup;
you hold my lot.
The lines have fallen for me in pleasant places;
indeed, I have a beautiful inheritance.
I bless the LORD who gives me counsel;
in the night also my heart instructs me.
I have set the LORD always before me;
because he is at my right hand, I shall not be shaken.
Therefore my heart is glad, and my whole being rejoices;
my flesh also dwells secure….
You make known to me the path of life;
in your presence there is fullness of joy;
at your right hand are pleasures forevermore.
~Psalm 16

WHAT A GREAT GOD!!!

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

Leave a Reply

