July Garden Update (or Why No Tomatoes?!?!)

Standard

Image

Our garden continues to grow like crazy. The plants are getting bigger and bigger, but not producing very many vegetables. The herbs are doing great, so we’re enjoying those quite a lot! I love running out and grabbing some fresh herbs to add to whatever I’m cooking. And the flavor is so delicious!

Image

The tomato plants don’t look very healthy anymore. And their few flowers have mostly fallen off without forming any fruit. Sad days! I wanted fresh cherry tomatoes most of everything we planted. I’m not sure what’s wrong with them, so if anyone has suggestions, please share!

IMG_4751

A few yellow cherry tomatoes have grown, and Luke particularly loves to pick and eat them.
Image

 

The zuchinni has produced some squash and we have very much enjoyed eating them. Anna even likes sauteed zuchinni.

Image
The cucumber plant has a lot of pretty flowers, but no fruit. It struggled desperately to survive our strange spring weather, so I’m glad to at least see the flowers. But I wonder if it will get too hot for the plant.

I was thinking this year would be a learning year, and so I’m not too disappointed that we haven’t had great production. I still really enjoy the garden, and like checking it and trying to figure out how to grow vegetables out of the dirt. Its pretty amazing that the Lord produces edible and delicious food out of dirt.

About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

2 responses »

  1. I’m not an expert, but I believe when it gets really hot, tomatoes stop producing. We’ve had such crazy weather this year, they may be confused! Don’t give up!

    What an amazing thing God has done! He could just as easily have made fully-grown fruits and veggies appear to feed us.

  2. This is our first year gardening, too. Fortunately, our cherry tomato plants have quite a few fruit on them, none ripe yet, though. I’m having the problem you are having with my bell pepper plants – they flower, but do not produce any fruit! Our cucumber plant has yet to fruit, as well, but it did get in a little later than the others. My favorite produce thus far has been the lettuce! :)

Leave a Reply

