Ice Smashing

Standard
Don't Just Pin It - DO it!
One of my favorite aspects of pinterest is access to fun ideas for activities for my kiddos. I like activities that are simple to set up, cheap, and fun for my boys. I had seen this pin for a huge ice block a while ago, and saved it up for the hot days of Texas summer. Since the temperature broke 100 this week, I decided to create one of my own. I basically followed her directions, except I took a few days to make the enormous ice cube, just adding water and little bugs and animals whenever I thought about it. One afternoon we were playing outside, and the boys started complaining about being hot, so I grabbed the ice block from the freezer, ran some warm water over it to pop it out of the container, and took it outside.
IMG_7063Hammers were procured and the boys went to town!
IMG_7067 IMG_7068It didn’t last very long, but they had a lot of fun whacking the ice and finding the treasures inside.
IMG_7077 IMG_7074We will for sure do this again! It’s basically free, so easy to set up, and the mess is outside! Best of all, my boys enjoyed it so much! Of course, they like anything that involves hammers and smashing stuff, and the ice is good for cooling off.
About Rachel

Most importantly, I am saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. He is more than enough to satisfy my heart. In His abundant goodness, I am also delighted to be a wife and mama. I work at home and enjoy spending most of my time caring for my husband, 2 sons and new daughter. I also try to squeeze in some creativity, coffee, chocolate, and good books.

One response »

Leave a Reply

